Happy (belated) Birthday Mahalia Jackson!!!

mahaliaj-movinonup

The best singer this green earth has ever seen died on January 27, 1972, at the age of 60. She is best known for being the most famous gospel sing ever, the Queen of Gospel they say. Her name was Mahalia Jackson, Momma Mahalia to me and those AfroTrads who share my great appreciation for her work and ways.
When Mahalia sang, yes sang, if had a certain medieval depth of religious feeling, an ancient feeling of spiritually one is want to come across in this age – the kind singing and faith I imagine William A. Percy was referring to in Lanterns on the Levee. I have not come across it in my 30 or so years on earth, personally.
Ralph Ellison wrote a great essay on Mahalia that I want to share a few excerpts from, some of my favorite songs from her will follow them.
mahaliaellison1

mahaliaellison4

 

mahaliaellison2

 

mahaliaellison3

My Favorite Song Ever.

The Upper Room

https://youtu.be/OLZcoDsPUkI

Summer Time & Motherless Child

Sweet Little Jesus Boy

Trouble of the World

3 thoughts on “Happy (belated) Birthday Mahalia Jackson!!!

  1. Love her renditions of Christmas songs, like “Joy to the World” and “O Holy Night”; my parents have them on some records, and I enjoy them each year… She had such a passionate intensity of delivery…

Leave a Reply

