One of This Site’s Guiding Principles

DetailPortRoyalSouthCarolinaSlaveQuartersLOCLC-DIG-cwpb-00806sliderpanel

        “I am not ashamed of my grandparents for having been      slaves. I am only ashamed of myself for having at one time being ashamed.” – Ralph Ellison

This is among the principle views of this blog.  We have no reason to be ashamed of our history, actually we should proud of the strength it took to endure it and create. We do not need any political constructed identities, nor to embrace the pathological victim hood narrative and while we love African history, we don’t need to link our selves to Kings and Queens whom we may or may not had any relation to for self esteem.

Our people expressed themselves in face overwhelming disdain from the larger culture and their sycophants of our own race, in our ranks. We accomplished great things and will continue so, the Negro has absolutely nothing to feel ashamed of.  We simply have a duty to honor our elders who did indeed make the ultimate sacrifice.

 “be proud of your heritage… we don’t have nothing to be ashamed of….I want to get the language so right that everyone here will cry out. I’m Black , I’m proud of it, I’m Black I’m beautiful” Martin Luther King

Leave a Reply

