Black History Month – Let it Begin.

Charles Ethan Porter, Black Artist early 19th century artist.

I have decided to dedicate this month to learning more about Negro Arts and the Negro in art. How much of this will be reflected in my blog? Who knows, I can be a rather lazy blogger. You know us shiftless folks.

So lets the month started however belatedly and let me say RIP to the brother Tony Martin, a great Garvey biographer and historian, lets say RIP to my foremost influence Martin Delaney who died January 24 in 1885, lets say Happy Birthday to Bishop Henry McNeal who was born fittingly on Feb 1st, 1834. Lets salute all those I forgot to mention too.
But back to the arts. Lets start off the month in a celebratory fashion with the great James Brown‘s, Say It Loud (I’m Black and I’m Proud)

This entry was posted in African American culture, Art, Culture, Preservation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

